The Iron Flower Book Review

The Iron Flower is the second book in the Black Witch Chronicles by Laurie Forest.


Elloren Gardner and her friends were only seeking to right a few wrongs when they rescued a Selkie and freed a military dragon. The last thing they expected was to be thrust into a realm-wide underground resistance against Gardnerian conquest.

While the Resistance fights the harsh rulings of the Mage Council, Gardnerian soldiers descend upon the University…led by none other than Lukas Grey, now commander of the nearby military base. Though Elloren tries to keep him at arm’s length, Lukas is determined to tie himself to her, convinced that she’s the heir to the power of the Black Witch, a legacy that will decide the future of Erthia. As his magic calls to her, Elloren finds it more and more difficult to believe she’s truly powerless, as her uncle always claimed. 


I really enjoyed the protagonist becoming more confident and discovering her powers as well as new friendships being formed.

I enjoyed the development of the love interest becoming a friend and a friend becoming more of a love interest to eventually a relationship by the end of the book.

I love how the book is still broken up into parts which allowed for some time to pass or new places to be introduced.

I loved exploring the new races that were being introduced.

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: