The Night River Book Review

The Night River is the final book in the Foxfires Trilogy by E.C. Hibbs.


As the light returns, darkness will fall…

Spring is coming to the Northlands, but even as winter fades, an icy terror spreads. The three Worlds are on the brink of collapse, and ancient monsters rise from the earth, their wicked eyes set firmly on the mages.

Tuomas, still reeling from his defiance of the Great Bear Spirit, must finally face the reality of who he is. Mihka is furious with him, Elin refuses to speak to him, and the people do not trust him. As the villagers drive the reindeer back into the south to safety, he must set out with Lumi one final time to right his wrongs and keep the Worlds from falling apart.

​But this quest shall bring the greatest test of all, for it will take him into the Deathlands: a place where no living person has ever stood…


This book was a great conclusion to the trilogy. It was different to the other books in the trilogy. I have really enjoyed the world Hibbs has created. There is a great community with the migrating villages and how they thrive and not just survive in the environment.

This book really started to focus on the thoughts and feelings of Tuomas and the relationship between the characters. I look forward to checking out other books by E.C Hibbs.

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: