The Winter Spirits Book Review

The Winter Spirits is the first book in The Firefoxes Trilogy by E.C. Hibbs.


If you sing to the Spirits, be prepared for their answer…

The Long Dark has come and the Northlands will not see daylight for two months. Silence falls with the snow, and Spirits roam the three Worlds. It is a time of beauty, magic, and danger.

When the Spirit of the Northern Lights steals his best friend’s soul, apprentice mage Tuomas is determined to find help. However, his own fledgling power gets the better of him, and he accidentally rips the Spirit out of the sky, trapping her in human form. Alongside his feared icy companion and the mysterious wandering mage Lilja, Tuomas begins a quest across frozen tundra and into ethereal Spirit realms.

But a terrible shadow lingers just out of sight, its gaze fixed on him. And behind her composed façade, the Spirit holds secrets of her own..


I truely loved being introduced to a pair of traveling mage’s Kari and Lilja. This book has a feeling of fairytales and you can see where Hibbs has pulled from Arctic cultures.

It was fantastic to look at the landscape through Tuomas’ eyes as the respect for the cold and repercussions grew while reading this book. There is no solid location of villages as they migrate, but the sense of togetherness is real throughout the book. I also really enjoyed Lilja as she has made choices to wander and stay where she chooses.

The story has some twists but I was so taken with the story. I’m looking forward to reading the next book.

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: