Once Upon A Broken Heart Book Review

Once Upon a Broken Heart is the first book in a new series by Stephanie Garber, the author of the Caraval trilogy.


Evangeline Fox was raised in her beloved father’s curiosity shop, where she grew up on legends about immortals, like the tragic Prince of Hearts. She knows his powers are mythic, his kiss is worth dying for, and that bargains with him rarely end well.

But when Evangeline learns that the love of her life is about to marry another, she becomes desperate enough to offer the Prince of Hearts whatever he wants in exchange for his help to stop the wedding. The prince only asks for three kisses. But after Evangeline’s first promised kiss, she learns that the Prince of Hearts wants far more from her than she’s pledged. And he has plans for Evangeline that will either end in the greatest happily ever after, or the most exquisite tragedy…


Stephanie Garber has done it again. I absolutely loved Once Upon the Broken Heart. It was amazing to jump back into the Caraval world again with a book following Jacks and with a new main character, Evangeline. It is a fantastic story about unrequited love and broken hearts, about curses and the lengths people will go for a happily ever after.

The character were fantastic. Evangeline Fox is so unique with her rose gold hair and her outlook on life through making uncanny bargins with the Fates but throughout the book we still believes in hope. Jacks is still the same Jacks we remember from Finale but you can’t help but feel for him in this book.

I absolutely loved the ending! I need more!

5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: